Sensor Monitor not working properly

This is where you talk about the NXJ software itself, installation issues, and programming talk.

Moderators: 99jonathan, roger, imaqine

Sensor Monitor not working properly

Postby Chiodo » Fri May 16, 2014 4:34 pm

Hello everyone!

I am new to Java and LeJOS, therefore my question could be seen as stupid, but please be patient ^^
I wrote a simple program to be uploaded on the NXT, and I would like to monitor the sensors during runtime through Bluetooth. Somewhere on the website I found that this piece of code that must be present somewhere for the Monitor utility included in the LeJOS package:

static LCPBTResponder lcpThread = new LCPBTResponder();
lcpThread.setDaemon(true);
lcpThread.start();

I did as advised, the program compiles and runs properly, but I can't read sensor values. Ultrasonic sensor stays at 1023 even if there's something in front of it, and touch sensor gives -1 even if pressed.
Am I missing something? :roll:
Chiodo
New User

Re: Sensor Monitor not working properly

Postby gloomyandy » Fri May 16, 2014 4:55 pm

Hi, and welcome to leJOS.
Please when asking for help tell us as much as you can...
1. What version of leJOS.
2. What host system are you using (Mac/Windows etc.), what version.
3. Does the sensor monitor work if you run it with just the leJOS menu running?
4. What exactly is it you are doing...
* Start your program?
* run the sensor monitor? What command line if any?
* What happens? What did you expect to happen?
* Please make sure you explain the exact sequence you are using, so others can try and reproduce things.
5. What is your program doing other than running the monitor?
6. If possible post a small code sample that demonstrates the problem (I know you posted some code, but for all we know that code may never be getting executed). Please try and post a short complete program, something that others can simply try.