Wifi problem with starting lejos.

This is where you talk about the EV3 software itself, installation issues, and programming talk.

Moderators: roger, gloomyandy, skoehler

Re: Wifi problem with starting lejos.

Postby marcin.kasinski » Sat Nov 16, 2013 7:03 pm

Can you give me any hint what I should search.

dmesg doesn't show any lan messages.

My lsmod output.
Code: Select all
root@EV3:~# lsmod
Module                  Size  Used by
g_ether                25254  0
8192cu                274556  0


It is correct , right ?
ifconfig output
Code: Select all
br0       Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
          inet addr:10.0.1.1  Bcast:10.255.255.255  Mask:255.0.0.0
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:908 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:278 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:73954 (72.2 KiB)  TX bytes:47315 (46.2 KiB)

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

usb0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:908 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:278 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:73954 (72.2 KiB)  TX bytes:59547 (58.1 KiB)

wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:10666 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
Last edited by marcin.kasinski on Sat Nov 16, 2013 7:14 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Regards.
Marcin Kasiński
http://itzone.com.pl
marcin.kasinski
New User
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 9:04 am

Re: Wifi problem with starting lejos.

Postby gloomyandy » Sat Nov 16, 2013 7:12 pm

If you can't see anything obvious then you will need to debug the WiFi connection process, google for wpa_supplicant, the script that runs the WiFi stuff is in /home/root/lejos/bin. I'm afraid I don't really have the time at the moment to try and debug this via the forum, sorry. Did you try the things I suggested about changing your WiFi access point configuration? I have two of those dongles and they work fine for me so I'm pretty sure this is not a driver issue (other users have also reported getting things working with that device).
User avatar
gloomyandy
leJOS Team Member
 
Posts: 3642
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2007 2:06 pm
Location: UK

Re: Wifi problem with starting lejos.

Postby marcin.kasinski » Sat Nov 16, 2013 7:15 pm

gloomyandy wrote:If you can't see anything obvious then you will need to debug the WiFi connection process, google for wpa_supplicant, the script that runs the WiFi stuff is in /home/root/lejos/bin. I'm afraid I don't really have the time at the moment to try and debug this via the forum, sorry. Did you try the things I suggested about changing your WiFi access point configuration? I have two of those dongles and they work fine for me so I'm pretty sure this is not a driver issue (other users have also reported getting things working with that device).




OK. I will check it.
Thanks for your help.
Regards.
Marcin Kasiński
http://itzone.com.pl
marcin.kasinski
New User
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 9:04 am

Re: Wifi problem with starting lejos.

Postby cfin » Sun Nov 17, 2013 9:26 pm



For me that helped connecting to the ev3 with lejos sd card from win7. I do now have the same problem, that my wlan connection hangs forever during boot.

with dmesg I can only see the logs since the current boot. So I cant see, what causes the problem, when I boot with the wlan dongle inside.

If I start without usbdongle and then insert it after successfull boot I see the following in dmesg:
Code: Select all
usb 1-1: new full speed USB device using ohci and address 3
register rtl8712_netdev_ops to netdev_ops

8712_usb_endpoint_descriptor(0):
bLength=7
bDescriptorType=5
bEndpointAddress=81
wMaxPacketSize=40
bInterval=0

8712_usb_endpoint_descriptor(1):
bLength=7
bDescriptorType=5
bEndpointAddress=2
wMaxPacketSize=40
bInterval=0

8712_usb_endpoint_descriptor(2):
bLength=7
bDescriptorType=5
bEndpointAddress=3
wMaxPacketSize=40
bInterval=0

8712_usb_endpoint_descriptor(3):
bLength=7
bDescriptorType=5
bEndpointAddress=84
wMaxPacketSize=40
bInterval=1
nr_endpoint=4, in_num=2, out_num=2

8192cu: NON USB_SPEED_HIGH
Chip Version ID: VERSION_NORMAL_CHIP_88C.
EEPROM type is E-FUSE
====> ReadAdapterInfo8192C
Boot from EFUSE, Autoload OK !
EEPROMVID = 0x7392
EEPROMPID = 0x7811
EEPROMCustomerID : 0x00
EEPROMSubCustomerID: 0x00
RT_CustomerID: 0x00
RT_ChannelPlan: 0x02
_ReadBoardType(0)
BT Coexistance = disable
<==== ReadAdapterInfo8192C
MAC Address from efuse= 80:1f:02:b9:6d:b9

But I dont have network access. Do you know, how to find out more informations what causes the problem?

Thank you
cfin
New User
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Oct 25, 2013 8:04 pm

Re: Wifi problem with starting lejos.

Postby gloomyandy » Sun Nov 17, 2013 10:43 pm

A few comments...
1. You should be able to start your EV3 with both a USB cable connected and the WiFi dongle attached. That way you can use the USB connection to debug the WiFi connection. You don't have to wait until the system is fully booted to connect using USB. Just wait until your host system has an IP address from the EV3 (it will be 10.0.1.1), then you can connect.
2. There is a lot of information on the web for how to debug WiFi connection problems when using wpa_supplicant. For example see the following:
http://hostap.epitest.fi/gitweb/gitweb. ... ant/README
3. For more information on how to setup the conf file see:
http://www.lsi.upc.edu/lclsi/Manuales/w ... icant.conf

As this suggests the basic thing to do is to run the supplicant from the command line and to view the debug output. To do this you will need to terminate the existing command and then restart it at the command line...
killall wpa_supplicant
/home/root/lms2012/sys/wpa_supplicant -Dwext -iwlan0 -c/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf
This may display a message that indicates what the problem. If not you can type control-c to abort and try running it again in debug mode:
/home/root/lms2012/sys/wpa_supplicant -Dwext -iwlan0 -c/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf -d
Good luck with working out what the output means...

Oh and you may well get errors that look like the following...
rfkill: Cannot open RFKILL control device
ioctl[SIOCSIWAP]: Operation not permitted
ioctl[SIOCSIWSCAN]: Operation not permitted
wlan0: Failed to initiate AP scan
ioctl[SIOCSIWSCAN]: Operation not permitted
wlan0: Failed to initiate AP scan
ioctl[SIOCSIWSCAN]: Operation not permitted
wlan0: Failed to initiate AP scan

This does not stop you from connecting (I get these all of the time but can still connect without any problems)...


Finally as I have already mentioned I think that the current SD card does not work if you are using WPA2 and AES encryption so you may want to try configuring your access point to use a less secure connection mechanism to see if you can get things working using that.
User avatar
gloomyandy
leJOS Team Member
 
Posts: 3642
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2007 2:06 pm
Location: UK

Re: Wifi problem with starting lejos.

Postby floydbloke » Mon Nov 18, 2013 6:06 am

My advice is far less technical and scientific than the above, but have you tried deleting wpa_supplicant.conf and creating a fresh one from scratch.

I had similar problems to you, checked, double-checked and triple-checked all the parameters, tried different passwords, etc., you name it.
Finally as a last ditch attempt I did the above, created a new config file using nano and it came up.

Amidst my research I came across a comment, I think it was from Andy, to be cautious around CR vs CR/LF within the conf file. The ones I initially tried all consisted of copy/pastes from webpages and even though I edited them with a Linux based editor all I can think of is that there must have been some stray hidden characters in there somewhere that wpa_supplicant couldn't cope with.
floydbloke
New User
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2013 7:04 pm

Re: Wifi problem with starting lejos.

Postby marcin.kasinski » Mon Nov 18, 2013 9:43 am

Hello.
After my investigation now problem is solved.

It was problem with psk parameter in wpa_supplicant.conf file.

If I put my password in double quotes everything works fine.

My working version of wpa_supplicant.conf:

Code: Select all
#eapol_version=1
#ap_scan=1
#ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant

#fast_reauth=1

# Pers
network={
   ssid="My sid"
   key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
   psk="my secret password"
   pairwise=CCMP TKIP
   group=CCMP TKIP
   proto=RSN



It is strange for me because in my working Raspberry Pi wpa_supplicant.conf psk value doesn't contains double quotes .

For me the most important is that it works now and I'm very happy...
Last edited by marcin.kasinski on Wed Nov 20, 2013 11:56 am, edited 3 times in total.
Regards.
Marcin Kasiński
http://itzone.com.pl
marcin.kasinski
New User
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 9:04 am

Previous

Return to EV3 Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron
more stuff