0.5.0-alpha

This is where you talk about the EV3 software itself, installation issues, and programming talk.

Moderators: roger, gloomyandy, skoehler

Re: 0.5.0-alpha

Postby MarcoE » Thu Dec 26, 2013 2:47 pm

daspfanni2000 wrote:
3. "URI" is not available - but "Clone URI" is. I guess this is basically the same thing:-)
4. is ok
5. here I struggle badly: I am presented with a selection of three branches found at the uri "master", "newport", "sensor framework". I deselect all but not the "master" branch - is this correct way as an enduser? Then I hit "next". Then I am supposed to chose a target directory and the initial branch (only master available), and the remote name "origin". There is also a checkbox deselected saying "clone submodules" is this supposed to be activated? My problem is: Where can I select the 0.5.0-alpha tag. I can not find it - it always leads to checking out head.

Any advise on how to get the 0.5.0-alpha tag commit instead of HEAD is greatly appreciated!

Best regards


Hey daspfanni2000,

Clone URI IS the same thing, yes ^^. at step 5 you can leave everything as is. I left all three branches selected, "clone submodules" unselected. After the download of the sources you will be in the master branch. You can then change to the 0.5.0-alpha tag/branch in the "git repositories"-window. You can open it by "Window" --> "Show view" --> "other..."-->git-->"Git Repositories". There you can expand your repository and expand "tags". there you will see branches for every alpha release. rightclick on 0.5.0-alpha and checkout. Then you will have the 0.5.0 sources :)
MarcoE
New User
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 25, 2013 6:13 pm

Re: 0.5.0-alpha

Postby aziobro » Thu Dec 26, 2013 5:20 pm

Looks like the Tetrix motor and servo classes are working.
I tested on a robot with two motor controllers. (4 Motors , Open Loop, No Encoders) and 4 Servos.

The terminal still shows some debug messages.

Code: Select all
Failed to load properties file
Set type 10
Status 0 changed false
Status 0 changed false
Status 0 changed false


But everything works.
If the motor and servo controllers are not powered up it does throw an error. (To be expected).

Thank you!
aziobro
New User
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2013 1:42 am

Re: 0.5.0-alpha

Postby petrs143 » Thu Dec 26, 2013 10:08 pm

Hello

Lejos works fine, but executing is so slow. I must wait 10 sec.

Is it normal ?
petrs143
New User
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Dec 25, 2013 10:24 am

Re: 0.5.0-alpha

Postby aprendiendo » Thu Dec 26, 2013 11:36 pm

gloomyandy wrote:For you folks having issues with the WiFi configuration are your access points setup to provide an SSID that is browsable? So people have this turned off to makes things more secure. Also could you please post details of your wps_supplicant.conf files so that we can see what settings you had to use.


I think that the problem is because some routers don't use WPA2, but just WPA, and the supplicant should be modified, as dendrobates wrote here, using this configuration lejos 0.4.0 started flawlessly connecting to the wifi. But, now, with 0.5.0 I have the "No Access Points" problem.

dendrobates wrote:I had the same problem. So I just deleted the wpa_supplicant.conf and made a new one with the following content:

ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
#ctrl_interface_group=0
#eapol_version=1
#ap_scan=2 was the one for me you may try 0 or 1 indstead of 2
#ap_scan=2
#fast_reauth=1
network={
ssid="yourSSID"
proto=WPA
key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
pairwise=TKIP
group=TKIP
psk="pwinplaintext"
}


Mounting the sd.img and using this configuration it works!

Code: Select all
ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant

network={
ssid="WIFI"
proto=WPA
key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
pairwise=TKIP
group=TKIP
psk="pwinplaintext"
}
Last edited by aprendiendo on Fri Dec 27, 2013 12:24 am, edited 1 time in total.
www.softwaresouls.com
aprendiendo
New User
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 12:37 pm

Re: 0.5.0-alpha

Postby skoehler » Fri Dec 27, 2013 12:00 am

I wouldn't specify proto, pairwise, or group. For a WPA or WPA2 network, just specify ssid, key_mgmt, and psk. At least that's what wpa_supplicant is configured like on a normal Linux PC. I hope this also works for the EV3 (don't have one to test). Specifying any more properties (like proto, pairwise or group) may be a potential source of trouble as it overrides the supplicant's defaults. For example the default for proto is to allow both WPA and RSN (where WPA stands for WPA1 and RSN stands for WPA2).
skoehler
leJOS Team Member
 
Posts: 1422
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2008 4:54 pm

Re: 0.5.0-alpha

Postby aprendiendo » Fri Dec 27, 2013 12:26 am

skoehler wrote:I wouldn't specify proto, pairwise, or group. For a WPA or WPA2 network, just specify ssid, key_mgmt, and psk. At least that's what wpa_supplicant is configured like on a normal Linux PC. I hope this also works for the EV3 (don't have one to test). Specifying any more properties (like proto, pairwise or group) may be a potential source of trouble as it overrides the supplicant's defaults. For example the default for proto is to allow both WPA and RSN (where WPA stands for WPA1 and RSN stands for WPA2).

I just changed my wpa_supplicant file and now it works! (I've updated my previous post)
www.softwaresouls.com
aprendiendo
New User
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 12:37 pm

Re: 0.5.0-alpha

Postby aprendiendo » Fri Dec 27, 2013 1:38 am

lawrie wrote:Hi firede,

You need jsch-0.1.50.jar from http://www.jcraft.com/jsch/. It seems to be included in some versions of Eclipse.

You can install it in Eclipse by selecting Windows > Preference > Ant > Run Time > Ant Home Entries and adding the external jar.


I downloaded it from http://netcologne.dl.sourceforge.net/pr ... 0.1.50.jar, added as lawrie said, and then, after compiling DBusJava and ev3classes, EV3FirstProgram compiles and executes without errors!

Thanks!
www.softwaresouls.com
aprendiendo
New User
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 12:37 pm

Re: 0.5.0-alpha

Postby lawrie » Fri Dec 27, 2013 9:47 am

petrs143 wrote:Lejos works fine, but executing is so slow. I must wait 10 sec.

Is it normal ?


If you put a System.out.println message at the start of your program, it takes about 4 seconds for me, for it to show, for me. But more classes are typically loaded after that, so 10 seconds is not unusual. It may depend on the speed of your SD card. Using a full Java VM, a lot of classes are loaded, and I doubt if it can be made much faster. But in general, we have not put much work into improving performance yet.
lawrie
leJOS Team Member
 
Posts: 922
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2007 1:27 pm

Re: 0.5.0-alpha

Postby aziobro » Fri Dec 27, 2013 3:07 pm

Ok testing EV3 Control Center.
- Using Mac OSX to connect to EV3 on Bluetooth. (ssh from terminal works to gain access to the EV3 and run programs.)
- Have downloaded and run programs from Eclipse ok.

EV3 Control Runs and a search finds the brick.
The Name is correct.
The protocol is BLANK.
The address is correct.
Status shows disconnected.

After a LONG TIME. I get the Message "IO Exception getting device information."

Console window shows the following:
Code: Select all
Closing the connection
Adding 10.0.1.1
Adding 10.0.1.1
Adding 10.0.1.1
Adding 10.0.1.1
Adding 10.0.1.1
Found ev1 10.0.1.1
Name is 10.0.1.1
Connecting to 10.0.1.1
Connected to 10.0.1.1(10.0.1.1)
Connected to 10.0.1.1 10.0.1.1
java.rmi.ConnectException: Connection refused to host: 192.168.0.9; nested exception is:
   java.net.ConnectException: Operation timed out
   at sun.rmi.transport.tcp.TCPEndpoint.newSocket(TCPEndpoint.java:619)
   at sun.rmi.transport.tcp.TCPChannel.createConnection(TCPChannel.java:216)
   at sun.rmi.transport.tcp.TCPChannel.newConnection(TCPChannel.java:202)
   at sun.rmi.server.UnicastRef.invoke(UnicastRef.java:129)
   at java.rmi.server.RemoteObjectInvocationHandler.invokeRemoteMethod(RemoteObjectInvocationHandler.java:194)
   at java.rmi.server.RemoteObjectInvocationHandler.invoke(RemoteObjectInvocationHandler.java:148)
   at com.sun.proxy.$Proxy0.getProgramNames(Unknown Source)
   at lejos.ev3.tools.EV3Control.createProgramsTable(EV3Control.java:932)
   at lejos.ev3.tools.EV3Control.showFiles(EV3Control.java:289)
   at lejos.ev3.tools.EV3Control.connect(EV3Control.java:1474)
   at lejos.ev3.tools.EV3Control.access$2(EV3Control.java:1445)
   at lejos.ev3.tools.EV3Control$3.actionPerformed(EV3Control.java:246)
   at javax.swing.AbstractButton.fireActionPerformed(AbstractButton.java:2018)
   at javax.swing.AbstractButton$Handler.actionPerformed(AbstractButton.java:2341)
   at javax.swing.DefaultButtonModel.fireActionPerformed(DefaultButtonModel.java:402)
   at javax.swing.DefaultButtonModel.setPressed(DefaultButtonModel.java:259)
   at javax.swing.plaf.basic.BasicButtonListener.mouseReleased(BasicButtonListener.java:252)
   at java.awt.Component.processMouseEvent(Component.java:6505)
   at javax.swing.JComponent.processMouseEvent(JComponent.java:3320)
   at java.awt.Component.processEvent(Component.java:6270)
   at java.awt.Container.processEvent(Container.java:2229)
   at java.awt.Component.dispatchEventImpl(Component.java:4861)
   at java.awt.Container.dispatchEventImpl(Container.java:2287)
   at java.awt.Component.dispatchEvent(Component.java:4687)
   at java.awt.LightweightDispatcher.retargetMouseEvent(Container.java:4832)
   at java.awt.LightweightDispatcher.processMouseEvent(Container.java:4492)
   at java.awt.LightweightDispatcher.dispatchEvent(Container.java:4422)
   at java.awt.Container.dispatchEventImpl(Container.java:2273)
   at java.awt.Window.dispatchEventImpl(Window.java:2719)
   at java.awt.Component.dispatchEvent(Component.java:4687)
   at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEventImpl(EventQueue.java:735)
   at java.awt.EventQueue.access$200(EventQueue.java:103)
   at java.awt.EventQueue$3.run(EventQueue.java:694)
   at java.awt.EventQueue$3.run(EventQueue.java:692)
   at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
   at java.security.ProtectionDomain$1.doIntersectionPrivilege(ProtectionDomain.java:76)
   at java.security.ProtectionDomain$1.doIntersectionPrivilege(ProtectionDomain.java:87)
   at java.awt.EventQueue$4.run(EventQueue.java:708)
   at java.awt.EventQueue$4.run(EventQueue.java:706)
   at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
   at java.security.ProtectionDomain$1.doIntersectionPrivilege(ProtectionDomain.java:76)
   at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEvent(EventQueue.java:705)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpOneEventForFilters(EventDispatchThread.java:242)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForFilter(EventDispatchThread.java:161)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForHierarchy(EventDispatchThread.java:150)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(EventDispatchThread.java:146)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(EventDispatchThread.java:138)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.run(EventDispatchThread.java:91)
Caused by: java.net.ConnectException: Operation timed out
   at java.net.PlainSocketImpl.socketConnect(Native Method)
   at java.net.AbstractPlainSocketImpl.doConnect(AbstractPlainSocketImpl.java:339)
   at java.net.AbstractPlainSocketImpl.connectToAddress(AbstractPlainSocketImpl.java:200)
   at java.net.AbstractPlainSocketImpl.connect(AbstractPlainSocketImpl.java:182)
   at java.net.SocksSocketImpl.connect(SocksSocketImpl.java:392)
   at java.net.Socket.connect(Socket.java:579)
   at java.net.Socket.connect(Socket.java:528)
   at java.net.Socket.<init>(Socket.java:425)
   at java.net.Socket.<init>(Socket.java:208)
   at sun.rmi.transport.proxy.RMIDirectSocketFactory.createSocket(RMIDirectSocketFactory.java:40)
   at sun.rmi.transport.proxy.RMIMasterSocketFactory.createSocket(RMIMasterSocketFactory.java:147)
   at sun.rmi.transport.tcp.TCPEndpoint.newSocket(TCPEndpoint.java:613)
   ... 47 more
java.rmi.ConnectException: Connection refused to host: 192.168.0.9; nested exception is:
   java.net.ConnectException: Operation timed out
   at sun.rmi.transport.tcp.TCPEndpoint.newSocket(TCPEndpoint.java:619)
   at sun.rmi.transport.tcp.TCPChannel.createConnection(TCPChannel.java:216)
   at sun.rmi.transport.tcp.TCPChannel.newConnection(TCPChannel.java:202)
   at sun.rmi.server.UnicastRef.invoke(UnicastRef.java:129)
   at java.rmi.server.RemoteObjectInvocationHandler.invokeRemoteMethod(RemoteObjectInvocationHandler.java:194)
   at java.rmi.server.RemoteObjectInvocationHandler.invoke(RemoteObjectInvocationHandler.java:148)
   at com.sun.proxy.$Proxy0.getSampleNames(Unknown Source)
   at lejos.ev3.tools.EV3Control.createSamplesTable(EV3Control.java:973)
   at lejos.ev3.tools.EV3Control.showFiles(EV3Control.java:290)
   at lejos.ev3.tools.EV3Control.connect(EV3Control.java:1474)
   at lejos.ev3.tools.EV3Control.access$2(EV3Control.java:1445)
   at lejos.ev3.tools.EV3Control$3.actionPerformed(EV3Control.java:246)
   at javax.swing.AbstractButton.fireActionPerformed(AbstractButton.java:2018)
   at javax.swing.AbstractButton$Handler.actionPerformed(AbstractButton.java:2341)
   at javax.swing.DefaultButtonModel.fireActionPerformed(DefaultButtonModel.java:402)
   at javax.swing.DefaultButtonModel.setPressed(DefaultButtonModel.java:259)
   at javax.swing.plaf.basic.BasicButtonListener.mouseReleased(BasicButtonListener.java:252)
   at java.awt.Component.processMouseEvent(Component.java:6505)
   at javax.swing.JComponent.processMouseEvent(JComponent.java:3320)
   at java.awt.Component.processEvent(Component.java:6270)
   at java.awt.Container.processEvent(Container.java:2229)
   at java.awt.Component.dispatchEventImpl(Component.java:4861)
   at java.awt.Container.dispatchEventImpl(Container.java:2287)
   at java.awt.Component.dispatchEvent(Component.java:4687)
   at java.awt.LightweightDispatcher.retargetMouseEvent(Container.java:4832)
   at java.awt.LightweightDispatcher.processMouseEvent(Container.java:4492)
   at java.awt.LightweightDispatcher.dispatchEvent(Container.java:4422)
   at java.awt.Container.dispatchEventImpl(Container.java:2273)
   at java.awt.Window.dispatchEventImpl(Window.java:2719)
   at java.awt.Component.dispatchEvent(Component.java:4687)
   at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEventImpl(EventQueue.java:735)
   at java.awt.EventQueue.access$200(EventQueue.java:103)
   at java.awt.EventQueue$3.run(EventQueue.java:694)
   at java.awt.EventQueue$3.run(EventQueue.java:692)
   at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
   at java.security.ProtectionDomain$1.doIntersectionPrivilege(ProtectionDomain.java:76)
   at java.security.ProtectionDomain$1.doIntersectionPrivilege(ProtectionDomain.java:87)
   at java.awt.EventQueue$4.run(EventQueue.java:708)
   at java.awt.EventQueue$4.run(EventQueue.java:706)
   at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
   at java.security.ProtectionDomain$1.doIntersectionPrivilege(ProtectionDomain.java:76)
   at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEvent(EventQueue.java:705)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpOneEventForFilters(EventDispatchThread.java:242)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForFilter(EventDispatchThread.java:161)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForHierarchy(EventDispatchThread.java:150)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(EventDispatchThread.java:146)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(EventDispatchThread.java:138)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.run(EventDispatchThread.java:91)
Caused by: java.net.ConnectException: Operation timed out
   at java.net.PlainSocketImpl.socketConnect(Native Method)
   at java.net.AbstractPlainSocketImpl.doConnect(AbstractPlainSocketImpl.java:339)
   at java.net.AbstractPlainSocketImpl.connectToAddress(AbstractPlainSocketImpl.java:200)
   at java.net.AbstractPlainSocketImpl.connect(AbstractPlainSocketImpl.java:182)
   at java.net.SocksSocketImpl.connect(SocksSocketImpl.java:392)
   at java.net.Socket.connect(Socket.java:579)
   at java.net.Socket.connect(Socket.java:528)
   at java.net.Socket.<init>(Socket.java:425)
   at java.net.Socket.<init>(Socket.java:208)
   at sun.rmi.transport.proxy.RMIDirectSocketFactory.createSocket(RMIDirectSocketFactory.java:40)
   at sun.rmi.transport.proxy.RMIMasterSocketFactory.createSocket(RMIMasterSocketFactory.java:147)
   at sun.rmi.transport.tcp.TCPEndpoint.newSocket(TCPEndpoint.java:613)
   ... 47 more
aziobro
New User
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2013 1:42 am

Re: 0.5.0-alpha

Postby daspfanni2000 » Fri Dec 27, 2013 5:15 pm

Here, too, the Control Center Application does not connect successful to ev3. I am on a Mac, too. I used wifi.
daspfanni2000
New User
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Dec 22, 2013 5:34 pm

Re: 0.5.0-alpha

Postby lawrie » Fri Dec 27, 2013 6:57 pm

There was a bug in the menu - it was using a fixed IP address for RMI. It should be fixed now. If you pull the latest version of the ev3 master from git (head, not the 0.5.0-alpha tag) and rebuild the menu with its ant build file, it should copy the updated menu to the EV3. You the need to reboot to run the new menu.

Give that a try. There could still be problems with multiple IP addresses. I usually use it with Wifi.
lawrie
leJOS Team Member
 
Posts: 922
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2007 1:27 pm

Re: 0.5.0-alpha

Postby nate » Fri Dec 27, 2013 8:42 pm

gloomyandy wrote:Hi nate,
Did you try configuring WiFi using the leJOS menu? You should have been able to get it working using that. If not could you post your settings so we can see what things you are not able to set via the menu.

Andy


I tried configuring it using the leJOS menu, but everytime I tried to search for my SID, it couldn't find anything. When I looked at the configuration file, it contained entries that weren't related to any networks near me.



Nate
nate
New User
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 11:40 pm

Re: 0.5.0-alpha

Postby gloomyandy » Fri Dec 27, 2013 10:11 pm

Hi Nate,
we need to see the settings that you used to get things working (you can hide the SSID and passphrase).

Thanks

Andy
User avatar
gloomyandy
leJOS Team Member
 
Posts: 4083
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2007 2:06 pm
Location: UK

Re: 0.5.0-alpha

Postby aziobro » Fri Dec 27, 2013 10:53 pm

EV3 Control Center connects!!!

Using Mac OSX. Connected to EV3 via bluetooth.
Updated the Menus on the EV3 to the most recent version.

Thank you!
aziobro
New User
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2013 1:42 am

Re: 0.5.0-alpha

Postby mcrosbie » Sat Dec 28, 2013 12:14 am

How did you get EV3Control to compile in Eclipse? I've got my EV3 running 0.5.0 and connected over Bluetooth and Wifi. I can create, compile and download programs from Eclipse (Kepler) on Mac OS to the EV3. But whenever I try to Run As->Java Application any of the ev3tools tools I get:

Code: Select all
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: lejos/ev3/tools/EV3Control
Caused by: java.lang.ClassNotFoundException: lejos.ev3.tools.EV3Control
   at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(URLClassLoader.java:202)
   at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
   at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(URLClassLoader.java:190)
   at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:306)
   at sun.misc.Launcher$AppClassLoader.loadClass(Launcher.java:301)
   at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:247)

This is suggesting that Eclipse cannot find the EV3Control class on my class path, but I'm not sure how to correct this.

Thanks!
mcrosbie
Novice
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 12:27 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland

PreviousNext

Return to EV3 Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 2 guests

more stuff